ATV Forum

ATVFan

Join ATVFan

Yamaha Kodiak Temp light

Discuss your favorite Yamaha ATVs.

Yamaha Kodiak Temp light

Postby AKult » Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:26 pm

Hello everyone, I am new to atvfan. I stumbled accross this forum in my efforts to find a fix for a problem on my 2000 Yamaha Kodiak 400. My temp warning light comes on when I turn my ignition on without the quad running. I have no idea what the problem is. obviously the machine can not be overheating. Has anyone ever had a problem like this, or maybe a suggestion. Thanks
AKult
400cc
400cc

Re: Yamaha Kodiak Temp light

Postby BassMaster » Thu Jun 12, 2008 2:34 pm

As far as I know almost all Utility atv's do it. My old Honda did it so do all Brutes. So just get used to it.

It turns off when you start it right?
2008 Kawasaki Brute Force 750i
- 27" Mud Bugs
- 3000lb Winch
- Snorkels

2007 Suzuki Quadsport Z400
2008 Kawasaki Brute Force 750i
BassMaster
650cc
650cc

Postby AKult » Thu Jun 12, 2008 3:09 pm

No-the light does not shut off when the quad is running. It comes on when I turn the key and stays on all the time.
AKult
400cc
400cc

Postby gjeffers » Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:18 pm

my 2006 does it also. i let the place work on it where i bought it and they could not fix it. we changed the sending unit and then they tried putting a whole new dash setup on it to no avail and since they were not a authorized dealer they told me to take it to one but i live 160 miles from the nearest one so im just living with it. the fan and everything else works fine so i just ride it and keep an eye on things.i have 1700 miles on it now.
gjeffers
450cc
450cc

Postby threefortyduster » Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:31 am

Have you checked the wire running from the sending unit? If it is grounding out, it can certainly cause an indicator light. Check to make sure the wire didn't happen to get pinched anywhere or stuck.
Spencer
2005 Dodge Dakota V8+Nitrous
1973 Plymouth Duster 340 (nitrous halfway there)